Not That Kind of Girl

10 Jul

My in-laws have a house on the lake. It is wonderful. We spend a lot of time at their lake lot just swimming and hanging out and eating. Lots of eating. Not gonna go there because I promise to have at least one blog that doesn’t talk about food… or wine… eventually! ANYWAYS……

One of the best things about their spot on the lake is that it is very close to a boat ramp. This particular boat ramp is kind of a steep angle. It gives inexperienced boaters trouble… and therefore, our family gets a LOT of laughs. Also, it doesn’t have a dock so you have to pull your boat in as close to shore as possible and hope you don’t get wet while getting out to get your truck.. or other vehicle. Do you know that people try to pull their big fancy boats with cars… or minivans? I find this odd. ANYWAYS…

One particular day from earlier this summer came to mind today and I thought.. I need to share this.

The sun is starting to set and boats are coming in off the lake. A nice boat pulls in to the ramp. A guy wearing a cowboy hat is driving. Cowboy hat and jeans on the lake… We laughed but didn’t think much about it. The girl with him jumps out to go get the car. The “cowboy” didn’t pull very close to shore so she got pretty wet. We laughed at him being so “considerate”. The girl is backing their truck down and we notice the “cowboy” is holding…. THEIR CAT!!! He had their cat on the boat… and he was holding it and petting it…. While the GIRL backed the truck down and hooked up the boat. “Cowboy” didn’t pull up on the trailer so she walked then strap down and cranked the boat all the way up onto the trailer!! All this time he was still loving on his cat!

At this time my father-in-law says fairly loudly.. You don’t deserve to wear a cowboy hat! I was dying from trying to hold in my laughter. The girl pulls the boat out of the water onto dry land and HELPS the “cowboy” get down out of the boat.

We all just sat there staring. I still can’t believe I saw that. The men in the family all laughed and said, “Honey, why don’t you do that?” or “Why aren’t the women in our family like that?” That would be because they all married strong, independent, and (most importantly) stubborn women!!

Now, I know how to do all the things that this girl did… and I take pride in that… but I am more proud of the fact that my husband knows that anytime we are in the boat together, he does all the work while I sun myself and act like the trophy wife I am!

Love, Laughter, The Lake! – Life is GOOD!

Leave a Reply

