Stress Relief

13 Apr

Well… It’s that time of the school year again. There is this tiny light at the end of the tunnel… The end is in sight… or it could just be the light on the front of the train which is about to run you over! Either way… IT’S STRESSFUL!

As I sit here in preparation of studying for my last Therapeutics Test, I decided I would write a blog. I felt close to a panic attack/ stroke/ running-around-punching-teachers-in-the-face episode today so before studying I am giving my glass bottle of wine time to take effect.

I found a list of 6 ways to deal with stress.

  • Avoid unnecessary stress!
  • Right, because that is possible in pharmacy school. Let me just avoid taking this test on Friday, and ignore working on my research project, and tell work to “suck it!” –CHECK!
  • Alter the situation! This article recommends expressing your feelings instead of bottling them up.
  • Dear Lord, Please keep me from expressing my opinions/feelings to any professors until after May 2011. I owe way too much in loans to risk having a values violation that will almost definitely get my butt kicked out of school. Amen!
  • Adapt to the stressor! Change yourself.
  • I am not the problem!!
  • Accept the things you can’t change!
  • I have been very accepting for almost 3 years of pharmacy school. I have been taught by dumb-a$$es, residents, and 4th year students. Bite me!
  • Make time for fun and relaxation!
  • I have no problem with this… except I was told that this is called living in Quadrant 4. Apparently, that’s not a good thing. Though I do have some amazing friends who I enjoy relaxing with over lunch… when it isn’t interrupted by class, or P1 and P2 students complaining.
  1. Adopt a healthy lifestyle!
  • Of course, as long as sitting on your butt for 12 hours a day with your head in a Therapeutics book is healthy then I’m good. I actually weigh out tomorrow to see if I have lost 10 pounds in 10 weeks. I sure hope so because I am looking forward to a HUGE baked potato with chili, cheese, and extra-extra sour cream. And probably a milkshake, and a cupcake for dessert.

That list sucks! So here is mine!

  • ALCOHOL!! And lots of it!


  • Playing card games with friends during lunch when you should be studying. (see #5)


  • A manicure and pedicure. Not that I can afford it because I am in pharmacy school… but it’s nice to dream about it!


  • Go try to find the flasher on campus!!

  • GOOD LUCK FRIENDS! WE CAN DO THIS!

One Response to “Stress Relief”

  1. kacysue April 13, 2010 at 9:18 PM #

    I like your list better, too. ha! Good luck finishing up!

Leave a Reply

