Good Book Alert and Random Faith Musings

28 Mar

I am in the middle of a great book right now. It’s called “Traveling Light” by Max Lucado. It was a Christmas present from Jared. I also got a whole bunch (like a couple dozen) of highlighters. I was really really really excited about them. They are awesome and such an amazing variety of colors I have never before seen. I think they were very influential in my making an “A” in Therapeutics for Jan Term. (And of course, my awesome study group!)

Anyways, back to the book. I am ashamed to say it just sat here on the table by the couch. Not because I don’t have time to read… I always find time to read… Usually while I am supposed to be studying. It just sat here because I wasn’t all that interested. In fact, I only picked it up because I have packed up all my other non-school reading material to take to TN. The book is really cool. It goes through Psalm 23 statement by statement. Really thought-provoking. Isn’t it amazing how God gives you just what you need, right when you need it!

One of the most interesting chapters is at the beginning. Starting with, “The Lord is my Shepherd”. Max says we are all just sheep. And sheep are the dumbest animals around. They literally can’t do anything for themselves… that’s why they have to have a shepherd. And the shepherd honestly cares for his sheep. He finds them the best grass, the best place to sleep, the best path to take up or down the mountain. I mean, WOW! Here I have been trying to deal with the struggle of studying, working, hoping for Jared to get a job soon, moving to Tennessee and family stuff all by myself. I am just a stupid sheep. I can’t do all of that by myself. Sometimes I am too smart/stubborn for my own good. I am really going to make more of an effort to “Let Go and Let God”.

The other interesting part I have found deals with Death. Max says to just skip that chapter if you don’t need it because “it will be there when you do”. I didn’t think I needed it. But unfortunately I learned of the death of 2 people who mean a lot to my family last Sunday. One is Johnny Davis. This is my brother’s dad. The other was Jared’s “Uncle Jug”. While I wasn’t close to either of these men, their deaths affected people who I care about a lot. I was at a loss for words as most people are in these situations. This book has some really insightful ways to look at death, and some ways to help people through that difficult time. One of which is to look at

Isaiah 57:1-2: “Good people are taken away, but no one understands. Those who do right are being taken away from evil and given peace. Those who live as God wants finds rest in death.”

He also goes on to say a much better interpretation of “They are in a better place”… Max says…

“While we are shaking heads in disbelief, they are lifting hands in worship. While we are mourning at a grave, they are marveling at heaven. While we are questioning God, they are praising God.”

Anyways, I am only about 1/3 of the way through the book, but I can’t wait to get a chance to sit in a bubble bath and read some more. For now, I am going to leave you with The 23rd Psalm in hopes that somehow or another it speaks to you in a new way or like an old friend or helps you through a rough day.

Psalm 23

A Psalm of David.

1 The LORD is my shepherd;
         I shall not want.
 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
         He leads me beside the still waters.
 3 He restores my soul;
         He leads me in the paths of righteousness
         For His name’s sake.
         
 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
         I will fear no evil;
         For You are with me;
         Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
         
 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
         You anoint my head with oil;
         My cup runs over.
 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
         All the days of my life;
         And I will dwell in the house of the LORD
         Forever.

Now my dog has gone on to bed without me. I’m going to join her… and kick her off my pillow.

Leave a Reply

