House Pictures – Before

10 Mar

For those who don’t know… Jared and I are moving back to Tennessee in June. (Actually late May, 80 days from today exactly, but who’s counting?) We are blessed to be able to move into the house that his mother was raised in. It was built by her parents in the late 1950’s.

His grandmother had a very eclectic taste in decorating, and toward the end of her life decided to do the whole house in pink (think Pepto-Bismol) and blue. Pink carpets, pink curtains, pink and brown tile in one bathroom. Blue and pink bathroom on the other end of the house. Lovely blue toile wallpaper in the bedrooms. Lacy blue curtains. Basically, not one room fits in with any decorating scheme that Jared or I would ever be able to live in.

This blog is going to serve as a Before/After view of our renovations.  And also a sounding board for decorating ideas. I have good intentions, but I am definitely NOT an interior decorator. On that note, I will let the remaining pictures speak for themselves.


The peeing boy statue and the pink curtains are unfortunately not going to make it into the new design! The Friendsville TN Pink Marble Fireplace is!


There are no words… Can’t wait for this to be GONE!


Love the Wood Trim… and all the light from the windows. Did I mention there are no light fixtures in the ceiling of the living room?


Wall opposite the fireplace.. Leads into bedrooms and bath


Floors will be refinished soon.. Its going to be amazing! The pink carpet had to go!

Currently, the walls are being sprayed with drywall to give them some texture. It’s called California Knockdown and it will be gorgeous. More importantly, it will help smooth out the walls. I forgot to mention earlier that Mrs. Peters liked to use coarse sand in her paint to give the walls texture, and she also painted in an enamel-like paint. It’s interesting. There were places on the walls that needed to be patched, and there was no way we could add the right texture to the new spots to make them match. And sanding down the old paint was out of the question because we are pretty certain that the base coat is lead paint! Exciting, I know.

My wonderful sister-in-law and her awesome boyfriend have been working tirelessly to get the walls sprayed so they can be ready for painting during my Spring Break. I am pretty sure that I will use a gray in the living room, either green or blue in the office (which will eventually tie into the nursery colors when it becomes a baby’s room (hopefully a girl) in 3 years or so), a very light beige in the dining room (it’s called simplify beige… could there be a better color for a dining room full of primitive americana junk?), and plain ol’ white in the kitchen because I just love a white kitchen.

I haven’t picked a color for our master bedroom yet. (It will eventually be our little boy’s nursery so I am undecided. I really don’t want to have to paint again.) We are also buying a new bed and bedding so I don’t have anything to work with yet in there. My husband’s input consists of “I like Antique White”, so he’s not really useful in the whole paint color decisions.

The pink/brown bathroom will stay that way for a while. Downstairs I plan on having a black and white bathroom, and maybe using some of the gray from upstairs for the walls in the game room and downstairs kitchen/bar area.

Here is a quick preview of my vision of the living room right now. I’m trying to pull a gray color out of the fireplace stone. So far, I like “Mega Greige” by Sherwin Williams.


Painted this with Sherwin Williams online thing. I like the gray with the wood trim. Never had to paint around dark trim before. Oh, and the curtains make the ceiling look pink. I’m probably just going for a nice crisp white up there.

So that’s it! I have a really great idea for window treatments. But I will save that for a later post. I sliced open my finger over the weekend, and typing is not real easy right now. Comments? Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

